The information in this catalog is current as of July 2017. Please contact individual programs for any additional information or changes.
General Fiscal Information
Past-Due Student Accounts
Admission Application Fee
An individual who applies for admission to the University of Florida shall pay a non-refundable application fee of $35. There is a $30 nonrefundable application fee plus $5 processing fee or fee waiver (UF 3.0376, Regulations of the University of Florida).
Registration and Tuition fees Liability
Pursuant to Section UF-3.037(1) Regulations of the University of Florida, registration shall be defined as consisting of two components: a) formal enrollment in one or more credit courses approved and scheduled by the university and b) fee payment or other appropriate arrangements for fee payment (deferment or third-party billing) for the courses in which the student is enrolled as of the end of drop/add period.
Registration must be completed on or before the date specified in the university calendar. Students are not authorized to attend class unless they are on the class roll or have been approved to audit. Unauthorized class attendance will result in tuition and fee liability.
In addition to the matriculating term, a student must be registered during the terms of the qualifying examination and the final examination, and during the term the degree is awarded.
Tuition and fee Liability – Pursuant to Section UF-3.037(2) Regulations of the University of Florida, a student is liable for all tuition fees associated with all courses for which the student is registered, at the end of the drop/add period or for which the student attends after that deadline. The fee payment deadline is 3:30 p.m., on Friday of the second week of classes.
Assessment of Tuition Fees
Pursuant to Section UF-3.0375 Regulations of the University of Florida, tuition shall be assessed on residency, first enrolled term of the current degree, course level, and degree program. In some instances, tuition waivers accompanying assistantships or fellowships include only the matriculation fee and where applicable the non-resident fee. All other fees must be paid by the student.
Students can pay their own tuition fees on ONE.UF portal by selecting Access other Student Self Services, University Bursar then Main Menu > My Campus Finances > Make a Payment.
To estimate tuition fees and determine student status, visit the University Bursar website: www.fa.ufl.edu/bursar/current-students/.
Lack of written notification of the tuition fee debt does not negate the student’s responsibility to pay by the published fee payment deadline.
University personnel will not be held accountable for assessment or accuracy of calculations.
Assessment of Student Tuition and fees
Resident Tuition Cost, comprising the following, shall be defined as the tuition and fees charged an enrolled student who qualifies as a Florida resident as defined in BOG Regulation 7.005 and Section 1009.21 Florida Statute.
Non-Resident Tuition Cost, comprising the following, shall be defined as the tuition and fees charged an enrolled student who does not qualify as a Florida resident as defined in BOG Regulation 7.005 and Section 1009.21 Florida Statute.
Activity and Service Fee: All students must pay an activity and service fee that is assessed on a per-credit-hour basis or semi-annual basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Athletic Fee: All students must pay an athletic fee that is assessed on a per-credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. Graduate research and teaching assistants enrolled for eight (8) or more credits during the fall or spring semesters and all other students enrolled for nine (9) or more credits are eligible to purchase athletic tickets at the student rate (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Audit Fee: Tuition and fees for audited courses are assessed at the applicable resident or non-resident cost (UF-3.0376(18) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Diploma Replacement Fee: Each diploma ordered after a student’s initial degree application can result in a diploma replacement charge not to exceed $10 (UF-3.0376(13) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Distance Learning Fee: Online courses may be assessed a per-credit-hour amount (1009.24 Florida Statutes).
Health Fee: All students must pay a health fee that is assessed on a per-credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. The health fee maintains the university’s Student Health Service and is not part of any health insurance a student may purchase (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Material and Supply: Material and supply fees are assessed for certain courses to offset the cost of materials or supply items consumed in the course of instruction. A list of approved courses and fees is published in the Schedule of Courses each semester (UF-3.0374 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Off-campus Educational Activities: The president or designee will establish fees for off-campus course offerings when the location results in specific identifiable increased costs to the university. These fees will be in addition to the regular tuition and fees charged to students enrolling in these courses on campus. The additional fees charged are for the purpose of recovering the increased costs resulting from off campus vs. on campus offerings. As used herein, off campus refers to locations other than main campus, branch campuses and centers (UF-3.0376(19) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Registration for Zero Credits: The student is assessed the applicable resident or non-resident cost as set forth in Regulation UF-3.0375, for one credit hour(UF-3.0376(17) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Technology Fee: Regulations of the University of Florida): All students must pay a technology fee that is assessed on a per-credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour (UF-3.3075 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Transcript Fee: Regulations of the University of Florida): An official transcript for current undergraduate, graduate, and professional students can be purchased for a fee of $6. The Cost for a non-enrolled student and a student who has not been registered at the university for two or more terms is $12. The university releases only official transcripts (UF-3.0376(12) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Transportation Access Fee: Regulations of the University of Florida): All students must pay a transportation access fee that is assessed on a per-credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Library processing fee: Students pay $12.80 in their final term for the administrative costs of processing the thesis or dissertation through the UF Libraries. This fee will appear and is payable on the student account on ONE.UF only after making the first submission of their thesis or dissertation to the Graduate School Editorial Office; http://graduateschool.ufl.edu/graduation-checklist.
Microfilm fee: Dissertation students must pay a $25.00 fee for Traditional Publishing with ProQuest for archiving and publication services. This fee will appear and is payable on the student account on ONE.UF passed the Editorial Office’s first submission requirements http://graduateschool.ufl.edu/graduation-checklist.
Architecture project students should contact their department regarding the project option fee and how these fees will be processed.
All charges may be subject to change without notice.
Payment of Tuition and fees
Tuition and fees are payable on the dates listed in the academic calendar. Deadlines are enforced. Tuition and fee payments are processed by University Bursar. Payments sent via U.S. mail must be received in the university cashier’s office by the established fee payment deadline. An on-time payment for the tuition deadline date is a receipt date, not a postmark date.
According to university policy, university cashiers will accept checks only for the amount due in payment of tuition fees, accounts receivable, and other student debts. Checks from other countries must be payable through a United States bank in U.S. dollars. The university can refuse two-party checks, altered checks, and checks that will not photocopy. The university does not have the authority to waive late payment fees unless extraordinary circumstances warrant such a waiver or the university is primarily responsible for the delinquency.
Online payment navigation for tuition fees and other charges can be made via the ONE.UF portal by selecting Access other Student Self Services, University Bursar then Main Menu > My Campus Finances > Make a Payment.
Students making payments with a mobile device should access m.ufl.edu and then select Make a Payment.
Payment options on ONE.UF:
- Electronic check; there is no service charge for the electronic check payments.
- Credit cards: MasterCard, Discover, American Express, or Visa will include a 2.6% service charge for tuition fees and accounts receivable charges (e.g., laser print, library fines, parking decals, etc.).
- International Payment; is a wire transfer, provides a competitive rate of exchange for many international currencies.
- In person payments: check, money order, or cashier’s check. International paper checks or demand drafts must be drawn on a U.S. bank in U.S. dollars and amounts cannot be greater than the amount due. Any payment that is more than the amount due will not be refunded and automatically will be applied to a future debt.
- Cash and debit cards are not available payment options.
Returned electronic checks or paper checks will be charged a service fee of $25 if the returned payment is less than $50; $30 if the returned payment is $50.01 - $299.99 and $40 if the returned payment is $300 or more. Payments for returned electronic check payments, returned paper checks and the returned service fee must be paid by money order or cashier’s check.
A $10 service fee will be charged if the bank information provided for the electronic check payment is inaccurate for electronic funds transfer. Payment for this type of return does not require a money order or a cashier’s check.
All financial obligations to the university will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first.
Late Registration and Late Payment Fees
Late Registration Fee: If the student fails to register prior to the late registration date published in the academic calendar will be subject to the late registration fee of $100 (UF-3.037(3) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Late Payment Fee: Any student who fails to pay all tuition fees due or to make appropriate arrangements for tuition fee payment (deferment or third party billing) by the fee payment deadline published in the academic calendar will be subject to a late payment fee of $100 (UF-3.037(4) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Waiver of Late Fees: A student who believes that a late fee should not be assessed because of university error or extraordinary circumstances that prevented all conceivable means of compliance by the deadline may petition for a waiver. Late registration fee: Office of the University Registrar; Late payment fee: University Bursar. The university reserves the right to require documentation to substantiate these circumstances.
Deferment of Tuition and fees
Deferment extends the deadline for payment of tuition fees for a specific term. A tuition fee deferment is granted based on information from Student Financial Affairs (financial aid deferments), the Office of the University Registrar (veterans) or Graduate and Fellowship Waivers; departments may provide Letters of Appointment (LOA) and tuition waivers to teaching, research, or graduate assistants, and fellowship students. Refer questions on eligibility to the appropriate office. A tuition fee deferment must be established by the tuition fee payment deadline for each term. A tuition fee deferment is provided to students in the following circumstances:
- Students receiving benefits from state or federal financial assistance programs (1009.27, Florida Statutes).
- Students receiving veterans or other educational benefits under Chapter 30, Chapter 31, Chapter 32, Chapter 33, Chapter 34, Chapter 35, Chapter 1606 or Chapter 1607 Title 38 U.S.C.; or
- Students for whom formal arrangements have been made with the university for payment by an acceptable third-party sponsor.
A $100 late payment fee will be assessed if a student fails to pay all tuition fees due by the deferment deadline.
Non-payment of Tuition and fees: The university shall temporarily suspend further academic progress of any student who has not satisfied the entire balance of his/her fee liability by the established deadlines. This will be accomplished by placing a financial hold on the student’s record, which will prevent the student from receiving grades, transcripts, and/or diploma, and the student’s registration will be denied for future terms until the account has been satisfied (UF-3.037 Regulations of the University of Florida).
Students who have not paid any portion of their tuition fee liability by the established university payment deadline will continue to be held fee liable for these courses, but will not be allowed to attend these courses until payment is made in full and the student has been re-registered.
To re-register for courses, students must submit a Course Schedule Correction form to the Office of the University Registrar. Students who re-register after being withdrawn for non-payment of tuition and fees will be subject to both late registration and late payment fees.
Refund of Tuition and fees
The following circumstances may constitute a tuition and fees refund:
- If notice of withdrawal from the University is approved prior to the end of the drop/add period and written documentation is received from the student.
- Credit hours dropped during drop/add
- Courses canceled by the university
- Involuntary call to active military duty
- Death of the student or member of the immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling)
- Illness of the student of such severity or duration, as confirmed in writing by a physician, that completion of the semester is precluded
- Exceptional circumstances, upon approval of the university president or his designee
A refund of twenty-five percent (25%) of the total fees paid (less late fees) is available for withdrawal of enrollment from the university prior to the deadlines listed in the academic calendar.
Refunds are issued by University Bursar and will be applied against any university debts. The university reserves the right to set minimum amounts for which refunds will be produced for overpayments on student accounts.
Tuition refunds due to cancellation, withdrawal or termination of attendance for students receiving financial aid will first be refunded to the appropriate financial aid programs. If the student is a recipient of federal financial aid, such as Grad Plus Loan, Pell Grant, TEACH Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (SEOG), Perkins Loan, Federal Direct Stafford Loans or PLUS loans, federal rules require that any unearned portion of the federal aid must be returned to the U.S. Department of Education.
The amount the student has earned is based on the number of days the student attended classes as compared to the number of days in the entire term (first day of classes to the end of finals week). Any remaining refund then will be returned according to university policy.
Direct Deposit Requirement: Due to the university’s continuing support for sustainable practices, as well as the costs associated with producing, mailing, and tracking undelivered checks, direct deposit is now required for the delivery of refunds, whether financial aid or student overpayments. This electronic method will deposit any overpayments to the student’s checking account. Students must give authorization on their ONE.UF: Access other Student Self Services, University Bursar then select Main Menu > My Campus Finances > Direct Deposit- Student or PLUS to have overpayments electronically credited to a U.S. bank or other U.S. financial institution checking account.
Deadlines: Deadlines are enforced. The university does not have the authority to waive late payment fees unless extraordinary circumstances warrant such waiver or the university is primarily responsible for the delinquency.
General Fiscal Information
Students can pay online at ONE.UF the exact amount of tuition fees and/or other amounts owed the university. The online payment system accepts the following payment methods: American Express, MasterCard, Discover, or Visa credit cards and electronic checks from checking and international payments via wire transfer.
Students making payments with a mobile device should access m.ufl.edu and then select Make a Payment.
Students can pay at the University Bursar office with personal checks, cashier’s checks and money orders, which can be placed in the 24-hour drop box located outside 113 Criser Hall. Payments on all financial obligations to the university will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first.
University Bursar is not able to accept cash or debit card payments and does not cash checks or make cash refunds.
Past-Due Student Accounts
All student accounts are payable at the University Bursar office or on ONE.UF at the time such charges are incurred. Graduating students with outstanding financial obligations will have a hold placed on their records withholding release of a diploma, transcript, and other university services until the debt is satisfied.
University regulations prohibit the following for any student whose account with the university is delinquent until the debt has been satisfied:
- Release of transcript, diploma, grades or schedules
- The use of UF facilities and/or services
- Admission to UF functions and athletic events
Delinquent accounts, including those debts for which the student’s records have a financial hold, may require payment by cashier’s check or money order.
Delinquent debts may be placed with a billing agent, reported to a credit bureau and referred to collection agencies without further notice or litigated, at which time additional collection costs will be assessed in accordance with UF-3.0376(20) Regulations of the University of Florida. All payments received are applied to the oldest debt first.