Aug 20, 2019  
2013-2014 Graduate Catalog 

Geological Sciences Department

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges and Departments

Chair: P. A. Mueller.
Graduate Coordinator: J. M. Jaeger.

Complete faculty listing: Follow this link.

The Department of Geological Sciences is composed of a group of internationally recognized faculty, graduate students, and dedicated support staff. Faculty and students in the Department of Geological Sciences are involved in exciting and groundbreaking research projects throughout the world and in Florida. The Department houses world-class analytical and computing facilities for research and teaching.

The Department has identified six primary areas of emphasis in its research and teaching programs: environmental geology and hydrology, paleoclimatology, tectonophysics, geochemistry and mineralogy/petrology, marine and coastal geology, and paleomagnetism. For more detailed information on current departmental activities, faculty, and research centers, see The Department has collaborative, interdisciplinary programs of study and research with the Florida Museum of Natural History, the Center for Wetlands Research, the Land Use and Environmental Change Institute (L.U.E.C.I.), and the hydrological sciences cluster.


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges and Departments